Rainbow Chard, Day 1

19 May

Like dozens of other people, I joined a CSA. This one is particularly appealing because the delivery point is my office. How fabulous is that? For my first box, I got lettuce, rainbow chard, basil, carrots, onions, various types of squash, different peppers, cabbage, mint, and turnips. The box smelled heavenly. And aren’t the vegetables pretty?

The rainbow chard spoils the fastest, so I decided to make that first. I had never had rainbow chard, or any kind of chard before.

I found a recipe that I modified ever so slightly. I sauteed garlic, onions (from box), rainbow chard (from box), and purple pepper (from box). Then I threw in some cannellini beans. Finally, I tossed that together with some pasta. I meant to shred a little parmesan cheese on top, but I forgot.

It was a successful first effort. I am looking forward to having chard again.

Leave a Reply

