Forgiveness

3 Jun

Today I met a woman who shared part of her divorce story with me and then prayed with me. One thing that struck me was that she said I need to learn to forgive myself. Forgive myself for my part in the failure of my marriage. I’ve been alternating between feeling like a victim and feeling guilty for causing him to cheat. One of the first things I read after he left was that a person needs opportunity to cheat, which was probably the crappiest thing I could have had to read at that point.  I know I was no peach. I’m not an easy person to live with. There are tons of things I could have done differently. But I have to let that go and forgive myself.

She also said that it sounds like everything I’ve done thus far has sort of been to try to win him back. It’s nearly 8 months in, and I am just now starting to get angry. I have to let him go. I have no control over his actions. I have control only over my actions. 

So starting today I am going to start to forgive myself. I am not quite sure how I’ll do it, but I’ll remind myself that I need to do so.

 

Leave a Reply

