Ahhh

13 Jun

There is something empowering about running during the summer. I signed up for a running class a few months ago and ended up skipping a ton of sessions because 1. I’m lazy, 2. I’ve had some mad depressing times lately, and 3. Work has been somewhat crazy. Deadlines at work are winding down, and I’m trying my hardest to keep my chin up, so I went to class today.

As I was running – very slowly, mind you – under the unforgiving Texas sun in the early evening, I felt a relief and a joy I haven’t felt in a long time. Here I was, under the scorching sun, conquering the heat. The sun. We live and die by that thing. The sun has the capacity to extinguish our world in a fraction of a second. My ex-husband is nothing compared to that. If I can move through the sometimes suffocating heat and feel good, getting through this divorce is absolutely something I can do. And have been doing.

So if you are having a bad day, go outside and let the sun beat down on you. Run if you can (hydrate, of course!!!). You may want to throw up, but the feeling of getting through the run or walk will make you feel like you can conquer anything.

Leave a Reply

