Success

13 Jul

Each week in my divorce recovery class, we have to do address 1 of 5 domains. Here’s what I decided to do a few weeks ago:

  • I would spend the 4th of July alone and be OK
  • For my family trip to Las Vegas, I would not dwell on the fact that he wasn’t there and that the last 4th of July trip was the last one he was there for

Holy crap. I completed my tasks with flying colors. The 4th was just another day. My dog and I went hiking and then I took a long nap, ran some errands, and just hung around my house. I wasn’t sad in the least that entire day. I surprised myself by how OK I was.

Then our family trip to Vegas was super fun. Again, there wasn’t any dwelling on him at all. I got to Las Vegas before the rest of my family and had a few hours by myself; same thing with the day we all flew out. I was fine.

I’m so proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

